Cathartic tales of pain and pleasure; lean and authentic

5 star review a place called grace

January 5, 2020

Candid. Flowing. Direct. I felt her frustration. Alison has courageously written a story of struggle against forces of life not of her own making. I wanted to keep reading because I wanted her to win. I felt the pain of her youth. I wanted life to make it right, to balance the scales. It kept me going.

A beautiful woman. Italy. Intimacy. Handsome men. Movie sets. Acting. Sex. But what of it? On the surface, it sounded like a life of glamour. She revealed it to be a myth. To a guy, it sounded sexy. But to the woman living it… it wasn’t. How does that work for her? Will that help her find the key to unlock her anxieties and insecurities?

She didn’t lose me by writing about layers of mental gyrations looking for an unlocked door in her mind. No, the words and actions were real and lean and paced in a cadence that kept me guessing when the next cycle of pain and pleasure would turn. And when her words took me into another day of disappointment I wanted to reach out and hug her. For in her candor she made me care for her because she was authentic. The gift she gave me with this book is the feeling of compassion.

Jim BarrettVerified Amazon review

This book is a find!

5 star review a place called grace

December 3, 2019

Alison Rand has crafted a beautiful memoir about her time in Italy. It is about throwing caution to the wind, climbing out of one’s comfort zone, and exploring what life has to offer — the good and the bad. Told with honesty and wit, there are set backs and successes (such as life), but one is always carried away with the force of her prose. I look forward to reading the sequel.

Brain MVerified Amazon review

A brave first novel–brava!

5 star review a place called grace

October 19, 2019

Raw, real and honest.

Marcelle RothenbergVerified Amazon review

I loved this book

5 star review a place called grace

May 20, 2019

Carol CVerified Amazon review

Enjoyed reading, very relatable.

5 star review a place called grace

May 15 , 2019

H. gumbelVerified Amazon review

Finding true Grace: The Grace within.

5 star review a place called grace

March 26, 2019

Penny SchwartzVerified Amazon review

This lovely book got me though a stressful flight…

5 star review a place called grace

March 29, 2019

AliciaAmazon Verified review

Fantastic Book!

5 star review a place called grace
December 13, 2018

Antonia BalintVerified Amazon review

I Loved This Book!

5 star review a place called grace
March 13, 2019

Daniela ManciniVerified Amazon Italian review

“…during this trip, she met an urbane, Italian man, and this relationship led her to move to Italy to start a new life. It’s in that country that the bulk of the memoir unfolds. There, Rand’s “existential loneliness” only temporarily relented when she expanded her circle of friends, landed acting gigs, or had the attention of a man. After three years, Rand returned home to New York City, at which point the story veers sharply from a fish-out-of-water journey to a brief exploration of grief and self-improvement. Rand writes in a matter-of-fact style throughout the memoir, which makes for a smooth read.”

Kirkusreviews.com

Heartfelt and honest!

5 star review a place called grace
Jannury 25, 2019

DonnaVerified Amazon review

Heart warming book to read !

5 star review a place called grace
January 26, 2019

JaybeVerified Amazon review

A Must Read!

5 star review a place called grace
September 13, 2018

AndyVerified Amazon UK Review

A Memoir That Decodes the Cost of Learning What Matters in Life

5 star review a place called grace
October 30, 2018

Judy KatzVerified Amazon review

I Love This Memoir!

5 star review a place called grace
December 7, 2018

GitaVerified Amazon review

I absolutely recommend this book.

5 star review a place called grace
September 3, 2018

Karina R. CastroVerified Amazon review

An absorbing and poignant page-turner

5 star review a place called grace
September 3, 2018

Domenica GenoveseVerified Amazon review

A Must Read

5 star review a place called grace
September 7, 2018

Reader in HartfordVerified Amazon review

A wryly touching memoir…

a place called grace
January 5, 2019

lmcVerified Amazon review

Honest and Brave

5 star review a place called grace
October 1, 2018

RichardVerified Amazon review

Surprised.

5 star review a place called grace
November 5, 2018

ElidoyleVerified Amazon review

A very personal “Plan B” that reveals strengths and possibility obstacle after obstacle

5 star review a place called grace
January 6, 2019

Nancy GreenVerified Amazon review

A touching and beautiful read.

5 star review a place called grace
September 2, 2018

MichaelVerified Amazon review

Great Book

5 star review a place called grace
September 21, 2018

LisaVerified Amazon review

Sincere and readable memoir

a place called grace
March 21, 2019

From the time she was a child, Alison experiences tragic loss and challenges that seem to toughen her up for what is to come. In this eminently readable memoir, Alison confronts her parent’s divorce, separation from her siblings, notably from her beloved brother, and an ill-fated marriage which ends in divorce. As a single actress from New York, in her early thirties, she decides to start a new life in Rome. Without a lot of confidence, a job, a place to live, or comfort in Italian, the adventure begins. She reveals ingenuity, a sense of humor, willingness to make many new friends and pure grit. The combination of delightful stories of obstacles and successes in Rome and her personal problems give this memoir its strength.

Back Pack FanVerified Amazon review

A Great Book

5 star review a place called grace

April 21, 2019

David ReibmanVerified Amazon review

Touching and honest

5 star review a place called grace

April 30 , 2019

DeidreVerified Amazon review